Uncategorized

Paper Mache Letter Boquet

IMG_2178[1]

I loved making this for my Laney Lou. I love how it turned out! It took max 1 hour with no interruptions. Super simple and super affordable. I used a 50% off coupon at Porters and got the letter for $5 and then bought 5 felt sheets for $.35 each. Boom! The tedious part was cutting out flower petals. (I need new scissors!)

What you need:

  • Glue gun (and sticks) I start so many projects with only one stick left, save yourself the frustration and just be prepared.
  • Paper Mache Letter
  • Exacto knife
  • Felt Sheets
  • Scissors
  • Paint, if you want your letter painted. I like the cardboard brown look, and now I’m thinking I should have gone gold.

Step 1: Use your exacto knife to cut out the top of your letter. Inside is a cardboard support. You can remove the support all together or I chose to cut it down the middle so it was 1/2 as tall and place it back in, covering it back up with the top piece. That way the flowers don’t sink down in the letter, instead they pop out the top a little and hang over the sides a tad.

Step 2: Begin to cut out your flower petal and decide where you’d like them. The nice thing about felt is they stick together pretty well so you can practice placing them without gluing.

I chose to cut different petal shapes for diversity. There is no right or wrong, its a simple can’t go wrong project really.

IMG_2163[1]

Step 3: When you are ready begin gluing your petals in the letter. I used strips of flannel rolled up at filler and I added leaved here and there.

Note: I’m thinking with my next one I won’t push the petals down so hard, by the time I got to the pink rose on the bottom right I realized if I placed a dab of glue and then pressed the petal toward the outside of the flower the petals lifted instead of laying flat. (You can see how I pressed the petal in on the grey flower in the pic to the left.)

And if you keep the glue only in the center of the flower and then press down the center goes down while the petals fan upward.

And there you go. Clean up your glue strings and voila! I’d love to see YOUR pics if you try this diy!

Leave a Reply

